Located along the northeastern boundary of Tremé, this 0.07-acre triangular park was one of six that resulted from the extension of Esplanade Avenue and the realignment of contiguous properties. The focal point of the park is a monument entitled Peace, the Genius of History, which was originally displayed at the 1884 New Orleans World’s Industrial and Cotton Centennial Exposition at Audubon Park. It was erected at the exposition by a terracotta company to showcase what could be done with the material. The monument was relocated to its current site upon the close of the Exposition, a local resident named George Dunbar having purchased it from the Audubon Park Cotton Centennial Commission and donated it to the City of New Orleans. The title “Gayarré Place” was inset in the walkway beneath the monument, and in 1886 the park was dedicated to historian Charles Gayarré. The original statue was vandalized in 1938, and was replaced by the current marble and cement statue. A cast iron fountain and a twisted iron shaft decorated with owls, geese, and ducks, once situated to the southeast of the monument, have since been removed.
The monument sits at the northwestern end of the park and is surrounded by a concrete circle from which extend four paths that lead to the park’s perimeter. The southeastern corner of the park has been paved with concrete. Flanking the path to the southeast of the monument are two planters containing ferns. Two benches are located to the east of the monument. Several trees have been planted around the park’s perimeter, while the base of the monument has a foundation planting of shrubs and herbaceous plants.